Rishabh Pant officially named Delhi Capitals skipper for IPL 2024

Tags: IPL 2024, Delhi XI, Rishabh Rajendra Pant, Team Captain

Published on: Mar 20, 2024

Delhi Capitals (DC) franchise have officially named Rishabh Pant as their captain for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season. The development was confirmed through an official statement on Tuesday, March 19.

Pant has not been in action since his horrific car accident near Roorkee in December 2022. After undergoing surgery for multiple injuries and having undergone an extensive rehabilitation program, the keeper-batter will return to competitive action with the upcoming IPL 2024. Pant is training with the DC side during their pre-season camp in Vizag.

26-year-old Pant was declared fit by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) a few days back, confirming his return to action as a keeper-batter during the IPL. The cricketer had been constantly sharing updates on social media over his recovery during his rehab at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru.

Speaking about Pant, DC chairman and co-owner Parth Jindal hailed the cricketer for showing a lot of grit to recovery from his shocking car accident.

“We are delighted to welcome Rishabh back as our Captain. Grit and fearlessness have always dictated his brand of cricket, and not surprisingly, even his road to recovery. I can’t wait to see him walk our team out once again as we look forward to a new season with renewed passion, vigour and enthusiasm,” Jindal said in a statement.

In the 2023 IPL season, the Delhi Capitals were led by veteran Australian batter David Warner. Under him, the team struggled last year and finished in the bottom half of the points table. They won only five of their 14 matches last season.

The Delhi Capitals will be up against Punjab Kings in their first match of IPL 2024 in Chandigarh on 23 March.

IPL 2024 Delhi Capitals Squad

Rishabh Pant, David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Swastik Chikara, Yash Dhull, Axar Patel, Jake Fraser-Mcgurk, Lalit Yadav, Mitchell Marsh, Sumit Kumar, Abishek Porel, Kumar Kushagra, Ricky Bhui, Shai Hope, Tristan Stubbs, Anrich Nortje, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Jhye Richardson, Khaleel Ahmed, Pravin Dubey, Rasikh Dar, Vicky Ostwal

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News