Steve Smith backs Nicholas Pooran on tampering ban: ‘He’ll learn from his mistake and move past it’

Tags: West Indies, Afghanistan, Steven Peter Devereux Smith, Nicholas Pooran, Ball tampering

Published on: Nov 19, 2019

Former Australia captain Steve Smith, who was handed a one-year ban for ball-tampering, played down the lighter ban of four matches given to West Indian wicket-keeper batsman Nicholas Pooran for a similar offence.

Pooran was handed the four-game ban by the International Cricket Council (ICC) after admitting to changing the condition of the ball during the third ODI against Afghanistan last week. Pooran has so far featured in 16 ODIs and 14 T20s averaging 44.6 and 22.8 respectively.

While Smith was initially banned for a Test by ICC for ball-tampering during the Newlands Test against South Africa in March last year, Cricket Australia later banned him and David Warner for 12 months. Opener Cameron Bancroft was banned for nine months for his role in the same.

Asked about the light penalty handed out to Pooran, the former Aussie captain told reporters in Brisbane, “Everyone is different, every board is different, and the way they deal with certain issues. For me, I copped it on the chin, it is what it is.”

He further added, “I don’t feel hard done by. It was a long time ago now. I’ve moved past it and I’m focusing on the present.

After his ban expired, Smith played a significant role Australia as they made the World Cup semis. He then had a sensational Ashes, in which he amassed 774 runs, as the Aussies retained the urn

Incidentally, Smith played with Pooran during the Caribbean Premier League, and is hopeful that the youngster will learn from his mistakes. “I know Nicholas, I’ve played a bit of cricket with him and he’s a talented player and someone with a bright future. I think he’ll learn from his mistake and move past it. I think he’s going to be an exceptional player in white-ball cricket,” Smith added over the issue.

Meanwhile, Smith was fined 25 percent of his match fee for showing dissent at an umpire’s decision after being given out caught behind while batting for New South Wales versus Western Australia in a Sheffield Shield game

--Renin Wilben Albert

Related News