Flashback: World T20 champions – Part II

Tags: T20 World Cup - 2009, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

Published on: Mar 11, 2014

As teams prepare to battle it out in the latest edition of the ICC World T20 championships, we look back at the past champions in the event.

As teams prepare to battle it out in the latest edition of the ICC World T20 championships, we look back at the past champions in the event. In the second part of our series, we look at 2009 champs Pakistan.


The 2009 ICC World T20 took place in England from June 5 to June 21. A total of 12 teams took part in the event and were divided into four groups. Group A included India, Bangladesh and Ireland, Group B featured Pakistan, England and Netherlands, Group C had Australia, West Indies and Sri Lanka while Group D included New Zealand, South Africa and Scotland.

Group stages

In the first group stage match, Pakistan went down to England by 48 runs. Bowling first, Pakistan conceded 185 for 5 with Kevin Pietersen smashing 58 from 38 balls. In reply, Pakistan folded up for 137 for 7. Younis Khan’s unbeaten 46 from 31 balls went in vain. Expectedly, Pakistan had it easy against Netherlands. They amassed 175 for 5 before cleaning up the minnows for 93. Shahid Afridi was the wrecker-in- chief with four wickets.

Super 8s stage

Pakistan went down to Sri Lanka by 19 runs in the first Super 8s game. Sri Lanka batted first and posted 150 for 7 courtesy Tillakaratne Dilshan’s 46. In spite of Younis Khan’s 50, Pakistan were restricted to 131 for 9. Lasith Malinga finished with 3 for 17. They fought back against New Zealand, bowling them out for 99 courtesy Umar Gul’s 5 for 6. Pakistan chased down the target with ease, winning by six wickets as Shahzaib Hasan made 35. Pakistan beat Ireland by 39 runs to make the semi-finals. Batting first, they made 159 for 5 courtesy Kamran Akmal’s 57. Saeed Ajmal’s four-for restricted Ireland to 120 for 9.

Semi-final and final

Pakistan took on South Africa in the first semi-final, and were victorious in the closely-fought contest by 7 runs. Batting first, Pakistan made a competitive 149 for 4. Shahid Afridi blasted 51 from 34 while Shoaib Malik contributed 34. South Africa were in a comfortable position early on as they raced to 40 inside the first six overs. But, once Graeme Smith was dismissed by Mohammad Amir, South Africa started faltering. Jacques Kallis made 64 but could not force the pace and JP Duminy’s unbeaten 44 went in vain. Shahid Afridi finished with excellent figures of 2 for 16.

The big final was played between Asian giants Pakistan and Sri Lanka at Lord’s, London. Sri Lanka batted first, but managed only 138 for 6 in spite of Kumar Sangakkara’s unbeaten 64 from 52 balls. Abdul Razzaq finished with 3 for 20. Pakistan chased down the target with ease courtesy some smart knocks. Afridi remained unbeaten on 54 from 40 balls while Kamran Akmal contributed a quick 37 at the top. Pakistan were crowned champions with eight wickets in hand. Afridi was man of the final while Sri Lankan Dilshan was named man of the series.

--By A Cricket Analyst

Related News