Does India Qualify for the Micromax Asia Cup 2012 ...

Does India Qualify for the Micromax Asia Cup 2012 Final after defeating Pakistan?

Tags: Asia Cup - 2012

Published on: Mar 19, 2012

Bangladesh has a chance to play the spoiler. India’s fate is in the hands of Bangladesh and the result of the hosts’ match tomorrow against Sri Lanka!

Well India did beat arch-rivals Pakistan through a breathtaking chase of 330 yesterday at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur thanks to Virat Kohli's sensational 183. Most of the cricket fans want to see an India-Pakistan match again for the Asia Cup 2012 Final on the 22nd. Yes, India does have the two wins to stay good for qualification. On the other hand, Pakistan is already into the Final with not just the two wins out of three matches but also because of its bonus point gathered against Sri Lanka.

India’s case is not that straightforward though! The Men in Blue will have to await the result of tomorrow’s match between hosts Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. Bangladesh who defeated India are having a great chance of playing the spoiler! The hosts can come in the way of an India-Pakistan final if they go onto upset Sri Lanka tomorrow!

Of course, even if Bangladesh defeats Sri Lanka tomorrow, they will end up with the same number of points as India. And although their net run-rate may struggle to beat India’s, it will be Bangladesh walking ahead of them into the Final! The tournament rules give preference to Bangladesh to get into the Final as they defeated India in the league match on Friday, as simple as that! So the net run-rate means nothing at all!

All this means is that an India-Pakistan Final for the Micromax Asia Cup 2012 will be on the cards IF AND ONLY IF Bangladesh lose tomorrow to Sri Lanka!

Related News