Uthappa, Rahane star in India's easy win in opener

Tags: India tour of Bangladesh 2014, Bangladesh Vs India 1st ODI at Mirpur, Jun 15, 2014, Ajinkya Madhukar Rahane, Robin Venu Uthappa

Published on: Jun 15, 2014

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

A magnificent opening partnership between Robin Uthappa and Ajinkya Rahane helped India take a 1-0 lead in the first ODI at Dhaka

By BV Swagath

A magnificent opening partnership between Robin Uthappa and Ajinkya Rahane helped India take a 1-0 lead in the first ODI at Dhaka. It was a rain-affected game at the Shere Bangla National Stadium after a thunderstorm arrived with India well placed at 100 for 1 in 16.4 overs.

After a delay of over two and a half hours, action resumed much to everybody’s surprise and India needed further 50 runs to score from 56 balls. The target was revised to 150 from 26 overs. The ball started to grip the surface which became damp because of the sweating under the covers.

Ajinkya Rahane stayed almost the distance scoring 64 from 70 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes to collect the Man of the Match award. His opening partner Robin Uthappa took the match away from the Bangladeshi bowlers with a blazing knock of 50 from 44 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes.

A couple of bad lbw decisions from local Umpire Enamul Haque weren’t enough to help Bangladesh sneak into the game as India already had the match in their pockets. Eventually India won by 7 wickets with 1.1 overs to spare.

Bangladesh Innings: Bangladesh posted a competitive total of 272 for 9 in 50 overs in the first ODI at Dhaka. The start for the hosts was pretty subdued but they took advantage of the absence of a third seamer in the Indian bowling attack.

The Tigers lost their first wicket in the 4th over with Tamim Iqbal caught behind off Umesh Yadav. The same bowler struck again in the 11th over with Momimul Haque edging his drive to the keeper leaving Bangladesh on the backfoot at 35 for 2.

Opener Anamul Haque added 52 runs for the third wicket with Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim to rebuild the innings. Anamul got out for 44 (from 60 balls with 7 fours) to debutant Parvez Rasool trying to hit a six over deep mid wicket. Mushfiqur went onto score 59 from 63 balls with 3 fours and 3 sixes to raise the tempo for Bangladesh. The Skipper got out to Rasool after playing a rash slog in the 31st over leaving Bangladesh at 134 for 4.

The Indian bowlers gradually gave up to the oppressive heat conditions and the Bangladeshi batsmen took advantage of that to boost their total. Shakib Al Hasan played a wonderful hand scoring 52 from 58 balls while Mahmudullah chipped in with a crucial 41 from 44 balls.

India’s best bowler was Umesh Yadav with 3 for 48 in 9 overs although it wasn’t quite a disciplined show from the pacer. The three spinners Akshar Patel, Amit Mishra and Parvez Rasool were just average. India’s only other pacer Mohit Sharma struggled to bowl his quota because of cramps.

Toss and Teams: Hosts Bangladesh have won the toss and elected to bat first in the 1st ODI at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur. Parvez Rasool and Akshar Patel are going to make their ODI debut.

Bangladesh: Anamul Haque, Tamim Iqbal, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain and Wicket Keeper), Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mahmudullah, Abdur Razzak, Al-Amin Hossain

Related News