Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 9 wickets in 2nd test, 1-0 lead in 3 test series

Tags: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka in UAE 2011-12, Pakistan v Sri Lanka,2nd Test at Dubai - Oct 26-30, 2011, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Pak vs SL, Pak vs SL 3rd Test

Published on: Oct 29, 2011

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by nine wickets with a day to spare and took 1-0 lead in the three-Test series.

Off-spinner Saeed Ajmal grabbed 5-68 and opener Mohammad Hafeez hit an undefeated 59 on Saturday as Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by nine wickets with a day to spare in the second Test.

Pakistan leads the three-match series 1-0.

Angelo Mathews and Dhammika Prasad shared an unbroken seventh-wicket partnership of 52 Saturday as Sri Lanka attempted to fight their way out a difficult position against Pakistan on the fourth day of the second Test.

The pair took Sri Lanka to tea on 218-6 in its second innings, ahead by 54 runs at Dubai International Stadium.

Sri Lanka were 88 for one wicket in their second innings, trailing Pakistan by 76 runs, at the close on the third day of the second test in Dubai on Friday.

Scores: Sri Lanka 239 (Kumar Sangakkara 78; Umar Gul 3-78; Saeed Ajmal 3-45) & 88-1 vs Pakistan 403 (Azhar Ali 100, Younis Khan 55, Asad Shafiq 59; Dilshan 3-57)

Sri Lanka still trail Pakistan by 76 runs but had Paranavitana (42 not out) and Sangakkara (29 not out) to thank for staving off the opponents' attack after the fall of Lahiru Thirimanne for eight when the score was 22.

Pakistan established a healthy first innings lead of 164 over Sri Lanka on Friday on the third day of the second Test at Dubai International Stadium.

The hosts, replying to Sri Lanka's 239, were eventually bowled out for 403 midway through the second session. Sri Lanka's openers reached 17-0 at the tea break.

Earlier, Pakistan were dismissed for 403 an hour after lunch, with Asad Shafiq scoring 59 and wicket-keeper and batsman Adnan Akmal chipping in with a useful 41.

Dhammika Prasad and Tillakaratne Dilshan chipped in with three wickets apiece while Chanaka Welegedara and spinner Rangana Herath took two each.

Related News