Brilliant Pietersen carries Daredevils home Vs DC

Tags: Indian Premier League - 2012, Delhi Daredevils v Deccan Chargers19th Match at Delhi - April 19, 2011, Kevin Peter Pietersen, Shahbaz Nadeem, Morne Morkel

Published on: Apr 19, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

DLF IPL 2012: Live News and Ball by Ball Scores Update of Delhi Daredevils Vs Deccan Chargers, Match 23 at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

Delhi Daredevils tasted their fourth victory in five games of the IPL 2012 to remain at the top of all the teams in the points table. The hosts defeated Deccan Chargers by 5 wickets at the Feroz Shah Kotla with Kevin Pietersen scoring his career best T20 score of 103*. Pietersen finished the match in style by bringing up the 2nd century of this IPL. He smashed 6 fours and 9 sixes to power Delhi Daredevils to a brilliant victory after being on the mat at 65 for 4 in 9.4 overs at one stage.

Kevin Pietersen scored 103*Helping Kevin Pietersen at the other end was Yogesh Nagar with an unbeaten 23 from 15 balls with 3 fours in an unbroken stand of 48 runs for the 5th wicket. KP without any doubts got the Man of the Match award.

DC restricted to 157 for 8

Wonderful bowling spells from Morne Morkel and Shahbaz Nadeem has helped hosts Delhi Daredevils to restrict Deccan Chargers to 157 for 8 at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. Morne Morkel claimed 3 for 23 while left arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem was even better with 3 for 16 in 4 overs.

Batting first after winning the toss, Deccan Chargers were going along smoothly at 81 for 2 in 9.1 overs before losing their way in the second half of their innings. Opener Shikhar Dhawan scored 44 from 29 balls with 5 fours and a six. Parthiv Patel, who came in at no.3 scored 45 from 27 balls with 5 fours and a six. Bharat Chipli chipped in with 25* from 17 balls with 3 fours and a six.

Related News