Virat Kohli’s 212* Led to Massive Win Against Afghanistan

Tags: Asia Cup 2022, India vs Afghanistan, Super Four, Match 5 (A1 v B2) at Dubai, Sep 08, 2022, West Indies, Afghanistan, Virat Kohli

Published on: Sep 09, 2022

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

India won by a massive 101 runs playing against Afghanistan in a Super Four match of the Asia Cup 2022 in Dubai. Virat Kohli scored his maiden T20I century and with this he pockets his 71st international century.

Batting first, Team India made a gigantic score of 212 runs by losing 2 wickets in 20 overs. Virat Kohli pocketed 122 runs (not out) while captain KL Rahul scored 62 in 41 balls. Rishabh Pant was not out with 20 runs in 16 balls and Suryakumar Yadav managed just six runs in 2 balls.

The fall of wickets was 1-119 (KL Rahul, 12.4 ov), 2-125 (Suryakumar Yadav, 12.6 ov) while Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep Singh did not bat.

Chasing a target of 213 runs, the Afghan players could score just 111 in 20 overs and lost eight wickets. The highest scorer was Ibrahim Zadran with 64 runs in 59 balls. The fall of wickets was 1-0 (Hazratullah Zazai, 0.4 ov), 2-1 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz, 0.6 ov), 3-9 (Karim Janat, 2.4 ov), 4-9 (Najibullah Zadran, 2.6 ov), 5-20 (Mohammad Nabi, 5.5 ov), 6-21 (Azmatullah Omarzai, 6.5 ov), 7-54 (Rashid Khan, 13.1 ov), 8-87 (Mujeeb Ur Rahman, 17.4 ov) while Fazalhaq Farooqi did not bat.

Virat Kohli was announced Player of the Match with 12 fours and 6 sixes. B Kumar turned up the best bowler for Team India with 5 wickets in four overs including one maiden over.

Kohli last scored an international test century against Bangladesh in November 2019 playing at the Eden Gardens and ODI century in August 2019 against West Indies at the Queen's Park Oval ground. This means, that after a gap of more than two years the magic is back.

With his outstanding performance, he becomes the fourth batter in the Indian national team to smash a ton in all three formats. The other three are Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul.

The next and last match of the Super Four is between Pakistan and Sri Lanka on September 9. The final is scheduled to be held on September 11 between Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

The top five batters (updated September 7) in the tournament are Virat Kohli (India) with 276 runs in five innings, Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan) with 212 runs in 4 innings, Ibrahim Zadran (Afghanistan) with 196 runs in five innings, Kusal Mendis (Sri Lanka) with 155 runs in four innings and Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Afghanistan) with 152 runs in five innings.

Related News